About us

Please see below for more information regarding the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and the Sex and Gender Specific Health Task Force and Program Team.

The Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health was established within the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in August 2007, and thus began the effort to establish a multi-campus women's health institute in Amarillo, Abilene, Lubbock, San Angelo, and the Permian Basin. Modern day research demonstrates that some diseases react differently in men and women, which challenges health care professionals to design special approaches to providing women's health information, disease diagnosis, and treatment. The Institute is committed to providing assets for integrating sex and gender differences into curriculum for students across all medical disciplines.  This will benefit women’s health, which is a global issue spanning disciplines, communities, gender, and ethnicity.


For more information, please visit the Institute website at http://www.laurabushinstitute.org/

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) has been dedicated to education, patient care, and research, which has made an impact on the health of West Texas and beyond for 50 years. To date, we have trained more than 10,000 health care professionals, and we meet the health care needs of more than 2.5 million people who live throughout a vast 108-counties, stretching from the Texas Panhandle south to the Permian Basin and west into Eastern New Mexico. We have established ourselves as a leader in education and patient care and are building a top-ranked research environment with significant studies under way in areas such as aging, cancer, reproduction, genetic diseases, and rural health. In addition, our location, adjacent to Texas Tech University, provides a unique opportunity for advancement of knowledge through scientific collaborations.


For more information, please visit the TTUHSC website at http://www.ttuhsc.edu/

The Sex and Gender Specific Health (SGSH) Task Force was appointed in 2014 by then President Tedd Mitchell to act as an institutional-level, multidisciplinary group comprised of faculty representing each TTUHSC School.  This group works closely with the SGSH Curriculum Program, the main purpose of which is the creation of SGSH educational materials and innovative educational models for use within TTUHSC and disseminated nationally and globally. This Task Force also serves as a think tank for future initiatives in sex and gender-based medicine, including collaboration with our TTU colleagues.


Connie Tyne

Rebecca  Sleeper, Pharm.D.

Linda Gilmore

Jongpil Cheon, Ed.D.

Abi Ramachandran



Executive Director


Program Manager

Instructional Designer






Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health

President’s Office

School of Nursing

School of Medicine

School of Pharmacy




All original content © 2014 TTUHSC LWBIWH,

All rights reserved.